DA 2009





President Andy Ford


Read his remarks


Listen to Andy on Vimeo


More about President Ford





 Make Our Schools A Priority Campaign Video


2010 Florida Teacher of the Year

Member, Hillsborough Classroom Teachers Assoc.

Megan is the 2010 Florida Department of Education/Macy's Teacher of the Year and the Christa McAuliffe Ambassador to Education. She is a National Board Certified Teacher with a bachelor’s degree from Clemson University in Spanish and international trade and a master’s degree from USF-St. Petersburg in
elementary education. She has finished her fifth year teaching-her fourth in Hillsborough County, Florida.

She spent last year growing in her learning lab-a fourth grade classroom, where her students experience hands-on learning with guests such as Beyonce and Ms. Peri Meter.


Megan serves as a NBCT mentor, began a Green Team recycling program, a Keys to Success program for student achievement, and a Confidence Squad FCAT prep, pep, and step team. She has also led her students in researching and planting two school butterfly and reading gardens, as well as Yaritza’s garden-a memory oasis dedicated to a student who died of Leukemia. She is dedicated to building student leadership qualities, winning a grant for an afterschool service and leadership club, called Cleveland SOUL (Serving Others through Understanding Leadership). She believes the most effective way to make a difference is to teach students that they hold the power to make a difference in their own lives and the lives of others. Megan is married to Daniel Mikolaschek and has three fur babies: two dogs and a cat.

Read Megan's Speech 


Watch Megan on Vimeo



Florida CFO Alex Sink

Florida Chief Financial Officer and Democratic nominee for Governor, Alex Sink addressed nearly 1,000 FEA delegates, guests and staff.

“To me it’s anything but fair for our state’s political leaders to hold our teachers to the highest accountability standards, while refusing to hold themselves accountable for giving you what you need to meet those standards. Florida needs a leader who sees that it is time to start investing in what we value -- our children -- not just what’s easy to measure in a test.” 



Read about her speech


Watch Alex on Vimeo



2010 FEA Teaching Excellence - Dr. Joseph Underwood


Dr. Underwood has taught 25 years at Miami High. He believes in giving students “real experiences for real careers.”, and has video projects created by student research on Galapagos Islands/Japan shown world wide. He appeared as referee #4 in the movie Any Given Sunday by Oliver Stone. Joe has been a high school football official for 25 years.

"Joe Underwood is the type of teacher whose influence echoes through generations. He has provided a wide open door between his students and their shining future. He not only asks students through the door but insists on their passage".
Karen Aronowitz
UTD, President 



2010 FEA Education Staff Professional (ESP) of the Year 

Robert Moore


FEA ESP of the Year

Robert has assisted with 11 safety & health classes for ESPs throughout the state. He has helped restore the Mount Carmel Cemetery in Pasco…the first AA cemetery in the Land O Lakes area. Robert created a summer job program for ESPs in his local, and has created two “union gardens” for USEP members at different locations. Robert is a father of two and grandfather of three.


“Robert Moore is an excellent, well respected ESP and union leader who has dedicated himself to promoting equality, safety, and cultural diversity while serving his profession, union and community.”

Lynne Webb USEP, President


Membership Award Winners

GOLD 2% or higher membership density increase

Liberty Education Association
Franklin County Teachers Association
Franklin Educational Sta" Professional Association
Holmes County Teachers Association
Hernando United School Workers
Hillsborough School Employees Federation
Hillsborough Classroom Teachers Association
Lake County Education Association
Walton County Education Association
Indian River County Education Association
Polk Education Association
Union County Teachers Organization

PLATINUM 70% or higher density

Franklin County Teachers Association
Franklin Educational Staff Professional Association
Seminole Education Association
Seminole County School Bus Drivers Association
St. Lucie County Classroom Teachers Association/Classified Unit
Volusia Teachers Organization
Okaloosa County Education Association

























Bob Chanin FEA President's Award Winner

Bob Chanin



FEA President's Award - Bob Chanin

NEA General Counsel was recognized at the 2009 Representative Assembly. See how leaders and delegates have paid tribute to his service.







Dennis Van Roekel, NEA President

Dennis Van Roekel, NEA President


Learn more about Van Roekel 

Watch Van Roekel on Vimeo 




FEA Friend of Education Award

FEA Friend of Education Award is presented annually to individual(s) who have greatly distinguished themselves through their extraordinary efforts on behalf of public education, public schools, public school employees, and students.


This year FEA has three Champions for Public Education:

  • Senator Dennis Jones
  • Senator Alex Villalobos
  • Senator Dan Gelber

FEA Freshman Friend of Public Education Award

  • Representative Dwight Bullard
 0 user(s) rated this page
Login to leave a comment
No Comments yet